Upcoming Events


Hours: Tuesday & Thursday 2:00 – 8:00 Saturday 10:00 – 5:00

Many thanks to all who came and helped clean up the library and grounds. The windows sparkle and the blackberries are curtailed.


Island Story Time – A 30 minute open program that includes stories, rhymes, and songs with opportunities for movement and interactive participation. Weekly on Saturday. For ages 2-6, Sat., Jun 1st, 10:30-11:00 AM.

Summer Reading Program – is a great tradition at all Whatcom County and Bellingham Public Libraries! Early readers, kids, teens and adults can take part any time from June 1 to August 31 by downloading a Summer Reading bingo card at WCLS.ORG , setting a goal and winning a prize. Everyone can participate!

Drumming with Ray Soriano – Kick off Summer Reading by making some noise! Ray brings an array of drums for a rocking good time.  For grades K-5 , Thurs, Jun. 6Th, 2:30 – 3:30.


The Friends of Island Library( FOIL) is a local non-profit that supports the Island Library through fundraising and promoting the purposes and activities of the Island Library to the community.
Board meets the second Monday of the month. Next upcoming board meeting is on Monday, Jun 10th at 7:00 PM. Board meetings are open to all.

FOIL Board of Directors – we need you!

FOIL includes everyone on the island who has a library card – you are all Friends of the Island Library! We need people on the FOIL Board who can go the extra mile as Friends to meet once a month to decide on maintenance and improvements to the physical facility and to arrange and organize ongoing library and community educational and enriching events. If you are interested in helping, please come to our monthly meeting at 7 pm the second Monday of any month in the Hansen Community Room, or call Joan Keiper at 758-7735 for more information